Mission

The Silicon Alps Electronic Cluster is a public-private partnership that brings together Austrian players from industry, science and public authorities to develop and position the electronics and microelectronics sector with a regional focus on the locations Carinthia and Styria. The Silicon Alps cluster regards itself as a long-term strategic alliance and a tool for cooperative, efficient and business-oriented location development.

Our overarching objectives are:

To boost the competiveness and innovative performance of its members

To raise the added value in Carinthia and Styria

To promote the location’s international visibility

To enhance the location’s attractiveness for start-ups and business establishment

The Silicon Alps cluster represents equally the interests of its partners and the public in objective location development based on facts and opportunities. Our services are especially geared to SMEs, business founders and cooperation project developments.

The Silicon Alps cluster directly supports the »Silicon Austria« initiative by the bmvit – the Federal Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology – and the technology platform ECSEL-Austria. At the European level, the Silicon Alps cluster, in alliance with »Silicon Europe«, replaces the former me2c – [micro] electronic cluster association.

Financing

The Federal Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology (bmvit), the federal provinces Carinthia and Styria are providing start-up financing in the amount of 750,000 euros each (250,000 euros per year in the first three years). The participating industrial enterprises each contribute 25,000 euros per year. This secures financing for three years with approx. 1 million euros a year.

Organisation

The Villach-based Silicon Alps cluster was designed as a shareholder structure, with shares held by both of its public partners, Kärntner Wirschaftsfond (KWF) and Steirische Wirtschaftsförderungsgesellschaft (SFG), as well as the Carinthian and Styrian industrial associations. The companies are selected across the entire value chain and cover the field of microelectronics and beyond, comprising the electronics manufacturing, assembling, system integration, process measurement and control technology industries and providers of services specialising in microelectronics. After it has become established, the industrial associations will withdraw from the cluster.

Interested in joining the network?

Mission

Der Silicon Alps Electronic Cluster ist eine Public-Private-Partnership österreichischer Akteure aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und öffentlicher Hand zur Entwicklung und Positionierung der Elektronik- und Mikroelektronikbranche mit dem regionalen Schwerpunkt an den Standorten Kärnten und Steiermark. Der Cluster Silicon Alps versteht sich dabei als langfristige strategische Allianz und Instrument einer kooperativen, effizienten und unternehmerisch ausgerichteten Standortentwicklung.

.

Unsere übergeordneten Ziele sind:

Erhöhung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Innovationsleistung der Mitglieder

Erhöhung der Wertschöpfung in Kärnten und Steiermark

Erhöhung der internationalen Sichtbarkeit des Standortes

Attraktivierung des Standorts für Gründungen  und Ansiedlungen

Der Cluster Silicon Alps vertritt gleichwertig die Interessen seiner Mitglieder und die öffentlichen Anliegen an einer objektiven, fakten- und chancenorientierten Standortentwicklung. Unsere Serviceleistungen sind insbesondere auf KMUs, Gründer und Gründerinnen und kooperative Projektentwicklungen ausgerichtet.

Der Cluster Silicon Alps unterstützt damit direkt den Schwerpunkt »Silicon Austria« des bmvit – Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie sowie die Technologieinitiative ECSEL-AustriaAuf europäischer Ebene löst der Silicon Alps Cluster im Verbund »Silicon Europe« den Verein me2c – [micro] electronic cluster ab.

Finanzierung

Das Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie (bmvit), die Bundesländer Kärnten und Steiermark leisten eine Anschubfinanzierung von jeweils 750.000 Euro (250.000 Euro pro Jahr in den ersten drei Jahren). Die beteiligten Industrieunternehmen tragen jeweils 25.000 Euro pro Jahr bei. Damit ist die Finanzierung auf drei Jahre mit ca. 1 Million Euro pro Jahr gesichert.

Organisation

Der Silicon Alps Cluster ist als Gesellschafterstruktur mit Sitz in Villach designt und beinhaltet eine Beteiligung der beiden öffentlichen Partner, des Kärntner Wirtschaftsförderungsfonds (KWF) und der Steirischen Wirtschaftsförderungsgesellschaft (SFG), sowie den Industriellenvereinigungen Kärnten und Steiermark. Die Auswahl der Unternehmen erfolgt entlang der Wertschöpfungskette, geht über den Bereich der Mikroelektronik hinaus und umfasst die Branchen Elektronikfertigung, Assembling, Systemintegration, Prozesstechnik und Dienstleister mit Schwerpunkt Mikroelektronik. Die Industriellenvereinigungen ziehen sich nach der Etablierung des Clusters zurück.

Sie sind interessiert Partner des Netzwerkes zu werden?